Fundamentals of Computer Graphics

Fundamentals of Computer Graphics, Third EditionI just bought the latest edition of highly acclaimed Computer Graphics book – Fundamentals of Computer Graphics by Peter Shirley, Steve Marschner et al. I can say that I am enjoying its precise, yet clear and laconic style starting from its first page. No surprise that it is one of the most popular textbooks being used for Computer Graphics courses.

I have noticed a tiny inaccuracy at the end of page 20. It shows Heron’s formula for triangle area as (1/2)*sqrt((a+b+c)*(-a+b+c)*(a-b+c)*(a+b-c)). I thought it should be 1/4 instead of 1/2 there. I remember the formula that we learned at school was using half-perimeter p=(a+b+c)/2 and it was sqrt(p*(p-a)*(p-b)*(p-c)), but being not very confident of my memory I have checked it with Wikipedia. Although I may be the gazillionth person who noticed this, it is not listed at the errata page yet.

One thought on “Fundamentals of Computer Graphics

  1. I have got a message from Steve Marschner. He added my finding to the errata page. This tiny error stood for a while. One of my former students, Ulvi Ahmadov, checked out the second edition and it was there, too.

Leave a Reply

